Martello Towers

There were 73 Martello towers built between Folkestone and Seaford from 1800 to 1810 to protect the coast from the expected invasion from Napoleon Bonaparte. The name "Martello" is thought to come from Mortella Bay in Corsica were a defensive tower used by Napoleon inspired the Government to build similar tower in this country.

Tower Number 55
Tower Number 60
Tower Number 61
Tower Number 64
Tower Number 66
Tower Number 73 (Wish Tower)
Tower Number 74 (Seaford)
Eastbourne New Tower

Updated: Sunday, October 30, 2016 12:47